WHAT TO READ NEXT (5/7/21)

WHAT TO READ NEXT (5/7/21)

8 min to read

Thanks subscribing and reading!

Behold — books and articles with links. What’s next for you?


BOOKS TO READ

BOOK #1
The Marrow of Modern Divinity – by Edward Fisher

I posted about this book yesterday. Near the top of my list, this book helps me understand the relationship between the Law and the Gospel. Edward Fisher was an ordinary guy in a church, wanting to better understand the Christian life. He wrote this book, and then while staying at a house on a road trip, Puritan giant Thomas Boston found the book on a shelf. He read it that night and was so impressed that he took it with him when he left. Once home, he added his own explanatory notes to it. The Marrow of Modern Divinity engages the mind and the heart and will help you see the Gospel more clearly.

Standout Line
“Because the law’s threatenings of eternal death have been satisfied for the believer in Christ, those threatenings cannot be renewed against the believer any more than a debt that ahs been paid can be held against a person” (p. 65).

Author Bio
Edward Fisher (fl. 1627–1655) was an English theological writer. He is generally considered the author of The Marrow of Modern Divinity (1645) by E. F., a work which influentially stated the doctrine of unconditional grace, and was at the centre of the later Marrow Controversy (source).

Prices
Amazon – $19.95 (Hardback – $22.95, Kindle – $9.99)
christianbook.com – $27.99
Thrift Books – $23.18
Reformation Heritage – $25.00


BOOK #2
Table for Two: Biblical Counsel for Eating Disorders – by David and Krista Dunham

I’ve known about this book for a long time. It was just a matter of finding the right publisher. New Growth Press decided to publish the Dunham’s book, and you need to read it. Even if you don’t know anyone who struggle with food, this book will help you understand the nature of such problems. And by reading the book, you will learn to counsel others.



Standout Line
“Facts alone, hoverer, are not going to change someone. Giving information on eating disorders will not make someone alter their perspective. No matter how terrible the consequences sound, it will never be enough to snap someone out of what they are doing. There must be an ongoing, humble submission of the heart to God.”

Endorsements
“In Table for Two, David and Krista Dunham offer readers the healing balm of the gospel, applying it to the struggle of disordered eating. Compassionate, practical, and wise, the Dunhams’ words are underscored by their own testimonies as they live in the hope they now extend—both to those who suffer and to those who help.”
Hannah Anderson, Author of Humble Roots: How Humility Grounds and Nourishes Your Soul

“I appreciate David and Krista’s patient, supportive approach. You can tell he is as content to be a patient shepherd on a hard journey as he is excited about the destination—overcoming an eating disorder with biblical guidance. When you’re stuck in a life-dominating pattern, this demeanor is important. If you’re stuck, you can trust David and Krista’s book to provide patient guidance. If you’re walking alongside someone who is stuck, you can trust Table for Two to help you pace your care and model the tone of the Good Shepherd. I have come to trust not only the content of David and Krista’s counsel, but also the tenderness with which they do counseling. I think you will too.”
– Brad Hambrick, Pastor of Counseling at The Summit Church; assistant professor of Biblical Counseling, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary; general editor for Becoming a Church that Cares Well for the Abused

About the Authors
David Dunham, MDiv (The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary), is a pastor and biblical counselor at Cornerstone Baptist Church in Roseville, MI. He is the coauthor of Table for Two: Biblical Counsel for Eating Disorders.

Krista Dunham has served as a women’s mentor, biblical counselor, and curriculum developer for various women’s and children’s ministries. She has a degree in early childhood education from Ohio University. She is the coauthor of Table for Two: Biblical Counsel for Eating Disorders.

Prices
Amazon – $15.99
christianbook.com – $12.99


BOOK #3
Brave and Bold: 31 Devotions to Strengthen Men – by Marty Machowski

Machowski explores the truth that becoming a real man means trusting God in every area of life, including serving, taking responsibility, and confessing failure. Through personal vignettes and practical application, men will be challenged to “be doers of the word, and not hearers only” (James 1:22) and to be examples of faithfulness, selflessness, self-control, and humble dependence on the Lord.

Useful for personal reading, one-on-one discipleship, or small group discussion, Brave and Bold encourages young men to live on a mission to honor the Lord and to make him known in every part of life.

Standout Line
“Manhood is not about strength or stature; biblical manhood is about character – leading, serving, being responsible, protecting, and providing. More than any area, we are called to lead in our love and worship of God.”

Endorsements
“My sons can tell you about the Saturday mornings when I used to take them out for breakfast and for what I called ‘manhood training.’ I realized it was my job to help them grow from boyhood to the responsibilities of mature manhood. How I wish I’d had Marty’s book back then. I’m so glad today’s dads have this invaluable tool to use with their sons.” – Bob Lepine, Cohost, FamilyLife Today

“Brave and Bold: 31 Devotions to Strengthen Men is a basic training manual for biblical manhood. Machowski offers thirty-one essential characteristics of biblical manhood in this compact, accessible devotional. Men who read this work and take on the challenges contained in it will be blessed and grow far beyond the thirty-one days it is designed to cover.” –Curtis Solomon, Executive Director of the Biblical Counseling Coalition; Cofounder of Solomon Soul Care

Author Bio
Marty Machowski is a Family Life Pastor at Covenant Fellowship Church in Glen Mills, Pennsylvania, where he has served on the pastoral staff for over thirty years. He is the author of a number of family devotionals, curriculums (including the Gospel Story for Kids), children’s books and parenting titles. His latest releases include, WonderFull, God Made Me for Heaven and Brave and Bold. He and his wife, Lois, have six children and several grandchildren, and reside in West Chester, Pennsylvania.

Prices
Amazon – $15.99 (kindle – $9.99)
christianbook.com – $12.99


BOOK #4
Reforming Journalism – by Marvin Olasky

Everyone knows journalism faces many problems today. And journalism has faced enormous challenges in history. What the world needs more is a uniquely Christian journalism. Marvin Olasky, editor-in-chief for World Magazine presents a practical and biblical foundation for journalism, in an engaging way. As a person who loves writing and the news, I highly enjoyed this book.




Endorsements
“Marvin Olasky shows a way forward for news coverage with wisdom and understanding to readers. His timing is good. Old media companies are running out of money. New media entures are struggling. His proposed recovery is needed now more than ever.” –Russ Pulliam, Columnist, The Indianapolis Star

“Reforming Journalism offers both thoughtful analysis and page-turning readability. Olasky provides a wise mix of practical advice for reporting and writing, historical background, and biblical worldview training. . . . Our culture desperately needs true stories, so if you want to understand why the news media are collapsing and how to tell stories that help people see the world clearly, buy this book.” –Les Sillars, Professor of Journalism, Patrick Henry College

Author Bio
Marvin Olasky (PhD, University of Michigan) is editor in chief of World and the author of twenty books, including Prodigal Press and The Tragedy of American Compassion. He is also dean of the World Journalism Institute and an elder in the Presbyterian Church in America. He was a Yale Daily News and Boston Globe reporter and has published articles in The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, The Washington Post, and Fortune. He taught journalism for twenty-five years at The University of Texas.

Prices
Amazon – $12.07 (Kindle – $9.99)
christianbooks.com – $12.99
Thrift Books – $4.79


BOOK #5
Prayer: How Praying Together Shapes the Church (9Marks: Building Healthy Churches) – by John Onwuchekwa

Prayer is as necessary to the Christian as breathing is to the human body―but it often doesn’t come quite as naturally. In fact, prayer in the church often gets subtly pushed to the side in favor of pragmatic practices that promise tangible results. This book focuses on the necessity of regular prayer as a central practice in the local church―awakening us to the need and blessing of corporate prayer by examining what Jesus taught about prayer, how the first Christians approached prayer, and how to prioritize prayer in our congregations.

Standout Line
“Calling on the name of the Lord is more than just saying His name aloud. Throughout the Bible, the name of the Lord is synonymous with the nature of the Lord. To call on His name is to make an appeal to His character. If prayer clings to the hope we share in Christ, then prayer should reflect our togetherness in Christ. If prayer has a gospel shape, then by implication it must have a church shape.”

Endorsements
“I don’t know if I’ve ever read a book on prayer that left me feeling the entire range of human emotion―until reading John Onwuchekwa’s Prayer. Here is a human book―beautiful, poignant, funny, gritty, and pastoral. This book is better than a correction to our often languid prayer lives. There’s no guilt-based manipulation. Onwuchekwa writes like a fellow traveler, and as a fellow traveler knows what travelers need most: refreshment. Here’s a thirst-quenching encouragement to join together in seeking our great God. I pray every church reads Prayer together; it will change our congregations. Here’s a warm invitation to the entire church, beckoning the people of God to the wonders of prayer.” ―Thabiti Anyabwile, Pastor, Anacostia River Church, Washington, DC; author, What Is a Healthy Church Member?

“Prayer is an excellent book by my dear friend John Onwuchekwa. It is biblically and theologically rich. It is also real and honest. Want to get a corporate prayer meeting started in your church? This book is a very good start.”
―Daniel L. Akin, President, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary

“The early church moved forward in power because they were a praying church (Acts 4:31). If we today are so proficient at ministry mechanics that we can succeed without power from on high, we have failed. But if our churches today will heed this compelling call to prayer by John Onwuchekwa, we too will prevail against all earthly powers, for God’s glory!” ―Ray Ortlund, President, Renewal Ministries

Author Bio
John Onwuchekwa (MA, Dallas Theological Seminary) serves as pastor of Cornerstone Church in Atlanta, Georgia.

Prices
Amazon – $10.29 (Kindle – $9.78)
christianbook.com – $9.99
Thrift Books – $9.49


ARTICLES TO READ

ARTICLE #1
“What Do Pastors Do With Power” – by David Mathis
Pastors and all authority figures are endowed with power. But the important question is what do they do with that power? Do they wield it like a hammer? Or do they lay down their lives like Christ? – article here

ARTICLE #2
“10 of My Favorite Quotes on Writing” – by Trevin Wax
Here’s another article about writing. I like Trevin Wax’s style and serious approach to writing. – article here

ARTICLE #3
“How Church Membership Gives Us Freedom” – by Lee Sullivan
Here’s a helpful recent article on church membership. – article here

ARTICLE #4
“Bust of Elie Wiesel Is Added to Washington National Cathedral” – by Christina Morales
An interesting and important article about a modern-day Jewish figure. Also read Elie Wiesel’s book Night. – article here

Enjoying this weekly update on books and articles? Read, like, and share it with someone else.

BONUS
Alred Poirier, author of The Peacemaking Pastor writes on the “Cross and Criticism.” It’s a great article about handling criticism. (article)


*As always, be a discerning reader.